Course Content
History of genetics
Learn introductory genetics with Braimy- B.Sc agriculture
About Lesson

a) Spermatid: the haploid cell, resulting from meiosis of a primary spermatocyte that will mature into a sperm.

b) Spermatocyte: a male gametocyte, from which a spermatozoon develops

c) Spermatogenesis: Process of formation of sperms

d) Oocyte: a cell in an ovary which may undergo meiotic division to form an ovum.

e) oogenesis: Process of formation of egg.

f) Spore: An asexual reproductive protoplast capable of developing into a new individual.

g) Gametophyte: The multicellular haploid plant structure is called the gametophyte, which is formed from the spore and give rise to the haploid gametes.

h) Sporophyte: The multicellular diploid plant structure is called the sporophyte, which produces spores through meiotic (asexual) division.

i) Sporogenesis: Process of formation of spores/

j) Microsporogenesis: The formation of microspores inside the microsporangia (or pollen sacs) of seed plants. A diploid cell in the microsporangium, called a microsporocyte or a pollen mother cell, undergoes meiosis and gives rise to four haploid microspores.

k) Megasporogenesis: Megasporogenesis refers to the development of megaspores from the megasporocyte, the cell that undergoes meiosis.

l) Gametogenesis: The process by which gametes, or germ cells, are produced in an organism.


Join the conversation
Scroll to Top