Course Content
Terminology of Animal Nutrition
Comparative composition of plant and animal cells and tissues
Learn animal nutrition and feeding practices with Braimy – Agriculture
About Lesson
  • Feed ingredients are classified into one of eight classes depending on their proximate chemical composition and intended dietary use.

  1. Class 1: Dry forages and roughages, including hay, straw, fodder (aerial part), stover, hulls and other products with more than 18 % crude fiber ( i.e. rice bran, seed coats, pods, etc)
  2. Class 2: Concentrates, which are less bulky contains less than 18% crude fiber and rich in energy and protein.
  3. Class 3: Silages, including only ensiled forages ( i.e. maize, alfalafa, grass, etc.) and excluding ensiled fish, grain, roots and tubers.
  4. Class 4: Energy feeds, including products with less than 20% protein ( dry basis) and less than 15% crude fiber ( i.e. grain, mill by-products)
  5. Class 5: Protein supplements, including products containing 20% or more protein ( dry basis) from animal origin ( including ensiled products) as well as oil meals, gluten, etc.
  6. Class 6: Mineral supplements
  7. Class 7: Vitamin supplements, including ensiled yeast.
  8. Class 8: Additives, including antibiotics, coloring materials, flavors, hormones and medicaments.
Join the conversation
Scroll to Top